Thursday, 15 March 2012


The new Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS has been voted as the 2012 South African Car of the Year by the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists. The Guild represents most of the motoring journalists who are based in Mzansi.

“We are extremely proud of the recognition that a world-class product such as the Hyundai Elantra has received from the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists,” said Alan Ross, Managing Director of Hyundai Automotive South Africa, after receiving the Car of the Year trophy.

Elantra scored a total of 230 points to win against second-placed Kia Picanto 1.2 Ex’s 155 points. In total there were ten finalists, including the Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI, Suzuki Kizashi, Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4, Audi A6 3.0 TDI, Ford Focus TDCI, Citroen DS4 THP, Peugeot 5008 HDi and the Mercedes-Benz SLK 350.

The SA COTY competition started in 1986 when the Toyota Corolla Twin Cam won. Since then BMW has dominated the award, winning a total of 6 times against second-placed 3-time winners Opel and Volkswagen. This is the first win for Hyundai.

No comments: