Monday, 9 April 2012


At a press conference hosted by Bridgestone Corporation and the New York International Auto Show, the Porsche 911 was declared the 2012 World Performance Car.

The Porsche 911 was chosen from an initial entry list of 19 new cars from all over the world, then a short list of ten, then three finalists: the Porsche 911, the Lamborghini Aventador LP 700-4, and the McLaren MP4-12C. This is the sixth out of seven times that Porsche has made it to the top three position in the World Performance Car category; this time round makes it Porsche’s fourth consecutive time. The Porsche Cayman S had the honour of winning the inaugural award in 2006.

“We are honoured that the new Porsche 911 S Coupe was chosen by this distinguished group of jurors as the 2012 World Performance Car of the Year,” said Detlev von Platen, president and CEO of Porsche Cars North America. “The new 911 is more powerful, delivers extraordinary driving dynamics, is more fuel efficient than ever, and is still a pure Porsche. Winning the 2012 World Performance Car is excellent validation from a global team of world-class journalists for the work and dedication of everyone at Porsche.”

The World Car jurors observed that, “The World Car Awards have had a Porsche in the final three for World Performance Car in all but one of the years we’ve been in existence. The all-new Porsche 911 Carrera and Carrera S have impressed our expert jury with leaps in innovation and risk-taking design choices while at the same time maintaining and improving upon the driving thrills we look for in any Porsche two-door”.

Candidates for the World Performance Car award must demonstrate a specific and overt sports/performance orientation while satisfying the same availability criteria as for the overall World Car of the Year award. Candidates may be chosen from the World Car of the Year list of eligible vehicles, or they may be newly introduced variants that satisfy the same criteria, but are derived from existing rather than brand-new models. In all cases, they must have a minimum annual production rate of 500 vehicles.

Previous World Performance Car winners were the Ferrari 458 Italia in 2011, the Audi R8 V10 in 2010, the Nissan GT-R in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi RS4 in 2007 and the Porsche Cayman S in 2006.


No comments: